End of the Semester Motivation.

Hello Readers,

The winter semester is finally coming to a close and it’s time to dig up that last ounce of motivation. I did a post similar to this back in the fall semester and I think it is fitting to do a new spring themed one, the weather is changing and it’s time to get back into that happy lifestyle. We have about 2-3 weeks left, depending on your university, and it’s time to buckle down. Finals are fast approaching, along with endless research assignments and last minute quizzes. So…

Where do you begin?

2b322d32f3eaec00168b386ef620dcba

The trick is to “Just Start” somewhere, anywhere. If you sit down and dive right into an assignment, you are one step closer to being done. I really tried to do this technique this past weekend, but the weather made it inevitable. But, this is the best way to accomplish anything. Using this mentality for finals week will make you get ahead quicker than you think. Just keep moving!

Today, I am going to give you best advice to enjoy the weather but get s**t done while you are at it.

Get organized…today

You need to layout your last couple weeks, this will not only reduce stress and anxiety, but it will make you feel more accomplished with each assignment you finish. Hopefully you have been utilizing an agenda, if so then write in all your due dates, along with final exam times. Another thing I do on top of that is make a separate list with everything that needs to be accomplished that week. That way, when I finish something I can cross it off the list.

Take breaks

This is the part where you enjoy the weather. I have never been one to cram in the first place, but I am a true believer in getting out of your study brain and taking a break. For example, a friend and I went to the beach to see the the sunset the other day. It was a simple 2-3 hour trip that allowed me to step back from the week and breathe. Another break idea if you are cramming is to study in 30-40 minute intervals, then take 15 minute breaks. This keeps your mind fresh and makes retaining information easier then non-stop studying.

Find a study spot

I love my library, but during this time of the year it is packed full. Finding a new study spot is key. I enjoy heading downtown to a cozy coffee shop because they are less packed, quiet and there is coffee. I am also the most productive in these settings. You can pick any place really, just make sure you can be productive and comfortable.

Water & Snacks

You’re right in the middle of studying and all of a sudden your stomach growls, you haven’t eaten all day. My best advice is to always pack some snacks and water. Hydration is important always, but even more crucial when you are supposed to be on top of your game. Snacks help you stay focused as well because you won’t have to leave your focused zone to go find food. Pull out your inner soccer mom and pack a cooler.

Sleep

My favorite of all…sleep. Getting enough sleep during these last few weeks in crucial to keeping your mind sharp. Pulling all-nighters is not the key to success. Sleeping will help you be more awake and retain the stuff you are studying better. So, do not follow the crowd  mentality and sleep in the library, go home get your 8 hours and start early the next day.

These are just a few of my personal tips, there are endless ways to prepare for this week but we all know the best is when it’s over. Exams are important but so is our mental healthy and stability. Treat yourself. When you accomplish a large task, celebrate with an exhilarating outdoor workout or a pizza for that matter. What ever feeds your soul, do it. In the end, all the study time and exams will just be the past. Always remember that everything happens for a reason and things will always work out one way or another.

Now I’ll share some of my favorite quotes that will hopefully give you a little mental motivation for the weeks ahead:

Thank you for reading this short post today, once again I will be crazy busy this next week and I will do my best to post. I should have a #GirlBoss at some point this week so keep your eyes open for that. I wish you the best of luck and strength to make it through the semester. Just dig deep to find that last ounce of motivation and focus. Good luck on finals and remember, you can do this!

Happy Monday.

xo,

Lyss

Leave a comment